PD Home  |  Contact the PD  |  Bristol Township Homepage



Frequently Asked Questions


Q. What is the definition of an Abandoned Vehicle in Pennsylvania? And, what is the procedure for removing one?

A. The official definition is:

“ABANDONED VEHICLE.”
(1) A vehicle (other than a pedalcycle) shall be presumed to be abandoned under any of the following circumstances, but the presumption is rebuttable by a preponderance of the evidence:
(i) The vehicle is physically inoperable and is left unattended on a highway or other public property for more than 48 hours.
(ii) The vehicle has remained illegally on a highway or other public property for a period of more than 48 hours.
(iii) The vehicle is left unattended on or along a highway or other public property for more than 48 hours and does not bear all of the following:
(A) A valid registration plate.
(B) A current certificate of inspection.
(C) An ascertainable vehicle identification number.
(iv) The vehicle has remained on private property without the consent of the owner or person in control of the property for more than 24 hours.

On public roadways the Bristol Township Police Department will tag a presumed abandoned vehicle with an orange sticker then notify the registered owner by certified mail to remove the vehicle from the roadway within thirty (30) days. The Bristol Township Police Department will have a licensed Salvor remove any vehicle that is not removed from the roadway in the prescribed time by the owner. The penalty for abandoning a vehicle is a summary offense punishable:

(1) For a first offense, by a fine of $ 100.
(2) For a subsequent offense, by a fine of not less than $ 200 nor more than $ 500 or imprisonment for not more than 90 days, or both.

The owner of the vehicle will also be responsible for any fees incurred by the salvor for removal, storage, etc., unless an arrangement is made with the salvor.

 

If you want to report an abandoned vehicle you may call our non-emergency phone number , (215) 785-4040 and a police officer will check on the vehicle and take appropriate action. If you have questions about abandoned vehicles, or you received a notice that your vehicle is abandoned, please call (215) 785-4052.

 

An abandoned vehicle on private property is the responsibility of the property owner to remove. Give us a call first and we will make sure the vehicle is not stolen and make a reasonable effort to contact the owner to see why it was left on the property.

 

Q. How many points will I get on my driver's license for a traffic ticket?

A. Typically, a violation of one of the sections in the Pennsylvania Vehicle Code will result in three points being assessed on your driver's license. These points will be removed at the rate of three points for each 12 consecutive months in which your driver's license is not suspended or revoked or you have not committed a violation which results in more points being added to your license. The following is an excerpt from the Pennsylvania Vehicle Code and contains the sections relating to the assignment and removal of points on a PA driver's license:

 

§ 1535. Schedule of convictions and points.
(a) GENERAL RULE.—A point system for driver education and control is hereby established which is related to other provisions for use, suspension and revocation of the operating privilege as specified under this title. Every driver licensed in this Commonwealth who is convicted of any of the following offenses shall be assessed points as of the date of violation in accordance with the following schedule:

CLICK TO VIEW TABLE


2501 Bath Road  Bristol, PA  19007
215-785-4040 Emergency - 911


Powered by Savvy Software